Steeden was established in Queensland in 1958 by Ray Steeden and produced leather footballs, cricket balls and boxing equipment. Steeden moved to New South Wales in the late 1960s and was acquired by Gray-Nicolls Sports in 1995.

Steeden is the Official Ball of the National Rugby League (NRL), State of Origin, NSW Rugby League, Queensland Rugby League, New Zealand Rugby League, Auckland Rugby League, Rugby League World Cup, England Rugby League, Wales Rugby League, Federation of International Touch Football, Touch Football Australia and many more associations, clubs and teams throughout the world.