State Of Origin

Since the 1908 establishment of rugby league in Australia, the sport's two major states, New South Wales and Queensland, have played representative matches against each other which evolved into the "state of origin" era which began in the 1980s.

After Queensland lost the first two interstate matches in 1980 (35-3 and 17-7, the second game in front of only 1,638 Sydneysiders) it was announced that a 'state of origin' match would take place on 8 July at Lang Park in Brisbane. The New South Wales media gave both the event, and Queensland's chance of winning it, little credence, calling the game a "three day wonder". Australia's 1978 captain Bob Fulton called the match "the non-event of the century"...

…a fervent sell-out crowd of 33,210 Queensland rugby league fans proved the sceptics wrong, cheering on Arthur Beetson’s Maroons to a famous 20-10 victory. 

The legend of ‘Origin’ was born.

Top Selling State Of Origin

All State Of Origin

Subscribe for Special Offers

Sports I'm interested in:
Sign up successful!